Thursday, August 26, 2010

Coppola and Goddard honorary Oscars

Directors Francis Ford Coppola and Jean-Luc Godard winners are this year's honorary Oscar, said on Wednesday the U.S. Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Will receive honorary awards and actor Eli Wallach and Kevin Braunlou historian, reported by the agency.

Coppola will have to get Memorial Award, which bears the name of Irving G. Talberga, while Goddard, Wallach and Braunlou get honorary Oscar. Prizes will be awarded to them at the official dinner 13th November.

Coppola (71), director of the trilogy "The Godfather", but has five Oscars. Award Talberg, which is awarded to "creative producers," deserves the thanks to his studio Zoitrop founded in 1969, with whom he produced more than 30 films, including "Lost in Translation."

For the film of his daughter Sofia Coppola was nominated for an Oscar for directing. Goddard (79), a key figure of the French New Wave, but the first feature film "Until the last breath" from the 1959th marked by the movement and world cinema.

Wallach (94), who played in "The Magnificent Seven," "The Misfits" and "The Good, the Bad and the Ugly," appears in the sequel film "Wall Street" Oliver Stone's "Wall Street: Money never sleeps."

Braunlou (72) is considered a leading expert on the history of silent films and their preservation.

Honorary Oscars are awarded for "outstanding achievements in his career, an outstanding contribution to film art and science or for special merits in the work of the Academy."

No comments:

Post a Comment